#21  
Old 03-11-2018, 01:02 PM
obi8 obi8 is offline
Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by H T C View Post
@obi8:

Dunno about GoG because i have the Steam version myself but i use PlayOnLinux to install the game, and use this guide to do it.

I do have a question for you, though: how did you manage to get Wine 3.3 staging? I thought staging only went up to 2.21, which is what i'm using myself.
It was a update from the update manager of my distro.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-11-2018, 01:33 PM
H T C's Avatar
H T C H T C is offline
Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obi8 View Post
It was a update from the update manager of my distro.
I C: PoL still doesn't show any staging versions past 2.21, but does show up to 3.3 non-staging.

My knowledge of Linux is quite limited but is it me or are you using fewer libraries for the game then those on the guide i posted in my previous reply? Perhaps that's what's borking your install?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-11-2018, 01:38 PM
obi8 obi8 is offline
Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Default

I try the guide in the first post of this thread and this guidehttp://www.grimdawn.com/forums/showthread.php?p=362606 but both dont work.

I read in one post, that the install of vcrun2015 from grim dawn broke the wine install. Is this true?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-11-2018, 01:47 PM
H T C's Avatar
H T C H T C is offline
Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obi8 View Post
I try the guide in the first post of this thread and this guidehttp://www.grimdawn.com/forums/showthread.php?p=362606 but both dont work.

I read in one post, that the install of vcrun2015 from grim dawn broke the wine install. Is this true?
According to the guide i posted:

Quote:
Installing vcrun2015

Note: vcrun2015 has to be installed before first launch of Grim Dawn. Otherwise the game installs vcrun2015 for you and breaks Wine. If you accidentally launch Grim Dawn one time, you will have to delete the virtual drive and start over from the beginning.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-11-2018, 03:11 PM
obi8 obi8 is offline
Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Default

i install vcrun2010, vcrun2012 and vcrun2015 with winetricks befor i start the the gog installer grim dawn.
the gog installer install automatically vcrun2010, vcrun2012 and vcrun2015. i cant cancel the vcrun install.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-11-2018, 04:00 PM
H T C's Avatar
H T C H T C is offline
Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obi8 View Post
i install vcrun2010, vcrun2012 and vcrun2015 with winetricks befor i start the the gog installer grim dawn.
the gog installer install automatically vcrun2010, vcrun2012 and vcrun2015. i cant cancel the vcrun install.
I don't have GoG so i don't know if there are any differences in the approach to the installation VS Steam.

Are you using PlayonLinux (PoL)? Please note that, in the guide i posted, vcrun2015 isn't installed the same way the other libraries are: vcrun2015 is installed within PoL (as the others), but in a different way.

I can't help further because i only have about 6 months experience with Linux myself
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-09-2018, 09:32 PM
Blaizor Blaizor is offline
Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 13
Default

Hello I've been playing the game nicely over 100 hours with DXVK but as of today and seemingly for no reason I'm getting a black screen on startup

The only change I can think of is that I created a new character, my 4th.

I get a black screen and can hear the sound, sometimes I get the hand cursor, but I cannot progress from there, until the Force Quit prompt appears.

The only errors I see in the console are:

Timed out waiting for game mapping!
0088:err:seh:setup_exception_record stack overflow 856 bytes in thread 0088 eip 7b43d6f6 esp 00240fd8 stack 0x240000-0x241000-0x340000

I've tried removing DXVK but the error is identical, and I've tried running Repair.exe, but it won't run, I get an out of memory issue...

Any help would be really appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-09-2018, 09:46 PM
beaverusiv's Avatar
beaverusiv beaverusiv is offline
Counsel
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 250
Default

The only thing I can think of is you've updated a package in your OS or you have a hardware failure (do you have other games you can run to see if they crash?).

Have you also tried Steam Proton?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-09-2018, 10:05 PM
Blaizor Blaizor is offline
Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beaverusiv View Post
The only thing I can think of is you've updated a package in your OS or you have a hardware failure (do you have other games you can run to see if they crash?).

Have you also tried Steam Proton?
No Man's Sky works running in another similar prefix, so I think my hardware is ok.

I've tried the Proton version, but last I tried a few weeks ago it didn't work properly, seemed to be because it triggered the copy protection, so you couldn't level properly or create characters.

I've tested in /d3d9 mode too, that also fails the same way.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-09-2018, 10:16 PM
beaverusiv's Avatar
beaverusiv beaverusiv is offline
Counsel
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 250
Default

Yep, just confirmed it still activates anti-cheat :/ (I'm on a GD hiatus). Sorry, that's me out of ideas.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
platforms

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Grim Dawn ©2018 Crate Entertainment, LLC.
vBulletin® 3.8.4 ©2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.