#1  
Old 10-01-2018, 02:45 PM
thejabrixone's Avatar
thejabrixone thejabrixone is online now
Advocate
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 498
Default Dual-wielding Cadence Mechanism

This is probably a noobish question and might be answered in the past, but I just want to make sure if it changes in one of the patch.

So I make this -beastly on paper- dual wielding blademaster using beronath converting elemental and chaos to physical. Similar to JoV's last physical blademaster. Here is the build btw:
https://www.grimtools.com/calc/8NKe14OV

45k Weapon damage, hoping the defense is enough for killing before being killed.

In dummy testing and crucible testing, the build fall short and not inflicting that much damage as I hope. The damage feels not even near my belgothian blademaster:
https://www.grimtools.com/calc/YVWK19GV
While only having 35% less weapon attack damage from that cadence build.


The question is, Is it true that cadence only inflict one hand weapon damage, whether it is main or off-hand damage?
Also, how does cadence charge when dual-wielding? Does hitting with regular both-hand attack give 2 cadence charges instead of 1?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2018, 02:52 PM
Ptirodaktill's Avatar
Ptirodaktill Ptirodaktill is online now
Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 2,321
Default

Yes, cadence never hit with both hands
__________________
#TeamDoubleDemo
#HowDoIRei:frog:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2018, 03:02 PM
x1x1x1x2's Avatar
x1x1x1x2 x1x1x1x2 is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,616
Default

Pretty sure cadence shows both hands in tooltip when dual wielding. Is it inconsistent with what really happens?
__________________
Check my profile for some of my builds. Most are crucible viable, but will be adding pure campaign builds as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2018, 03:22 PM
thejabrixone's Avatar
thejabrixone thejabrixone is online now
Advocate
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ptirodaktill View Post
Yes, cadence never hit with both hands
So saddd
Quote:
Originally Posted by x1x1x1x2 View Post
Pretty sure cadence shows both hands in tooltip when dual wielding. Is it inconsistent with what really happens?
I did some search before this. Ppl said that cadence will only did one hand damage. It shows both hands because it has 50-50 chances of hitting with main hand or off-hand weapon.

The value of dual-wielding for cadence is very limited then. Only for DoT build, also maybe for adding more flat damage to the weapon if the weapon has beneficial procs or have separate flat damage in the weapon stats.

Sent from my Redmi Note 3 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2018, 04:03 PM
FunkyGandalf's Avatar
FunkyGandalf FunkyGandalf is offline
Advocate
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 420
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thejabrixone View Post
The value of dual-wielding for cadence is very limited then.
Your basic attacks can hit with both hands when dual wielding and that counts as 2 hits regarding Cadence stacks so those 3rd Cadence hits are more frequent with DW.
__________________
.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aetherial View Post
Gallop, you plan to add, podzemele bagels?
.....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-2018, 04:44 PM
Dioarchet Dioarchet is offline
Herald
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,043
Default

As far as Cadence + Melee DW WPS interaction goes, here is some more information:

http://www.grimdawn.com/forums/showthread.php?p=639615
http://www.grimdawn.com/forums/showthread.php?p=639982
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2018, 11:29 PM
thejabrixone's Avatar
thejabrixone thejabrixone is online now
Advocate
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dioarchet View Post
As far as Cadence + Melee DW WPS interaction goes, here is some more information:

http://www.grimdawn.com/forums/showthread.php?p=639615
http://www.grimdawn.com/forums/showthread.php?p=639982
That is a really interesting news. So there is an update after all. 100% WPS + cadence looks so interesting now.

Thanks diocharcet!! Cadence blademaster will certainly can be better now!

Sent from my Redmi Note 3 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-02-2018, 01:19 AM
Gdante14CO Gdante14CO is offline
Supporter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 160
Default

The description says every third swing, one handed or two. It works every third swing.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-02-2018, 01:24 AM
thejabrixone's Avatar
thejabrixone thejabrixone is online now
Advocate
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gdante14CO View Post
The description says every third swing, one handed or two. It works every third swing.
From that video which diocharcet linked, cadence will double charge when dual-wielded attack goes, whether it's from WPS or not. It will even replace one of the hand damage from WPS to cadence's damage.

Sent from my Redmi Note 3 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cadence, dual-wield

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Grim Dawn ©2018 Crate Entertainment, LLC.
vBulletin® 3.8.4 ©2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.