#1  
Old 11-12-2016, 03:20 AM
Tycho Tycho is offline
Banned User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,311
Default Questions about Bleeding

So I read on a Reddit post ( https://www.reddit.com/r/Grimdawn/co...ame_type_from/ ) that:

1. Bleeds will stack as long as they came from different skills
and
2. Whacking an enemy with one bleed skill apparently resets all currently active bleed timers back to full.

1 I can believe, but I'm gonna ask here about whether 2 is true. Is it?

Also, if bleeds from different skills do indeed stack - what counts as a different skill? Will the bleeding bonus damage from the Fox constellation simply add on to any skills/default attacks being used? Does Rend from Huntress count as its own skill for the purposes of bleed stacking? How high can you stack bleeds? Could a Warder with Devouring Swarm, Feral Hunger, Blade Arc, Savagery, Upheaval and the Rend proc stack 6 different bleed timers on an enemy at once, and then just keep resetting them all with timely whacks of Savagery?
  #2  
Old 11-12-2016, 07:12 AM
Duck_King's Avatar
Duck_King Duck_King is online now
Herald
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
So I read on a Reddit post ( https://www.reddit.com/r/Grimdawn/co...ame_type_from/ ) that:

1. Bleeds will stack as long as they came from different skills
and
2. Whacking an enemy with one bleed skill apparently resets all currently active bleed timers back to full.

1 I can believe, but I'm gonna ask here about whether 2 is true. Is it?

Also, if bleeds from different skills do indeed stack - what counts as a different skill? Will the bleeding bonus damage from the Fox constellation simply add on to any skills/default attacks being used? Does Rend from Huntress count as its own skill for the purposes of bleed stacking? How high can you stack bleeds? Could a Warder with Devouring Swarm, Feral Hunger, Blade Arc, Savagery, Upheaval and the Rend proc stack 6 different bleed timers on an enemy at once, and then just keep resetting them all with timely whacks of Savagery?
1. Constellations such as Huntress which cast their own skill I believe is considered a different source. But a different source of damage is just that - hitting them with something else except for the aforementioned attack.

Eg. Continuous Blade Arc swings will not do much for Bleed damage.
One Blade Arc Swing which procs Rend followed by Devouring Swarm followed by Cadence (assuming you took fighting form) will stack the bleed damage.

2. AFAIK this is not the case. If you take the above example and insert a 2nd Blade Arc after Devouring Swarm, the stronger source will be applied not overridden.

It's kinda hard to explain so maybe another forum peep can explain it better. Having said that, if you hit an enemy with the same bleed source twice it does reset the timer and re-apply the initial bleed etc.

Last edited by Duck_King; 11-12-2016 at 07:49 AM.
  #3  
Old 11-12-2016, 02:45 PM
TomoDaK TomoDaK is offline
Praetorian
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
2. Whacking an enemy with one bleed skill apparently resets all currently active bleed timers back to full.

1 I can believe, but I'm gonna ask here about whether 2 is true. Is it?

Also, if bleeds from different skills do indeed stack - what counts as a different skill? Will the bleeding bonus damage from the Fox constellation simply add on to any skills/default attacks being used?
Just here to confirm what Duck said pretty much

Using a bleed on an enemy only resets the timer for that specific ability or the % wd bleed. Bleed damage on fox is only applied by % wd and you can only have one bleed from % wd, well two if you dual wield. Each attack/skill with % wd won't add on to it as that would be broken. The highest damage % wd bleed applied will always override the others
  #4  
Old 11-12-2016, 03:07 PM
Silben's Avatar
Silben Silben is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomoDaK View Post
...you can only have one bleed from % wd, well two if you dual wield.
Are you sure about that? It has been awhile but when I was testing with poison I was almost positive that DW got the same stacks as one hand + shield with identical weapons.
Closed Thread

Tags
bleed, bleed damage, bleeding, devotions, skills

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Grim Dawn ©2018 Crate Entertainment, LLC.
vBulletin® 3.8.4 ©2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.