#1  
Old 09-18-2018, 09:04 PM
rebel7254 rebel7254 is offline
Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 116
Question GD performance on my laptop

I play GD on a custom gaming laptop (hooked up to my TV through HDMI, made by a company called Eluktronics), which has the following specs:

Intel® Core™ i7-7700HQ Quad Core
8GB GDDR5 VRAM NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 1070
16GB DDR4 RAM
512GB Ultra Performance M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD
Windows 10 Professional

I really thought that this setup would be capable of delivering 60+ fps at all times, with potential exception of some Crucible waves. But even in some parts of towns like Devil's Crossing where nothing is going on, I get dips into the low 50s and upper 40s. I mean most of the time I am getting 60 fps, but drops do happen on a regular basis.

I haven't done a ton of troubleshooting yet, other than the tweak I found about setting max pre-rendered frames to "1" or whatever.

Resolution and graphics settings do not seem to matter. I can put everything on lowest graphics settings and 1024x768 resolution. Still can't muster 60 fps in parts of Devil's Crossing.

Before I proceed with troubleshooting, I just wanted to make sure this isn't a normal experience that can be chalked up to the aging game engine and its inability to take full advantage of multiple CPU cores.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2018, 09:35 PM
malawiglenn malawiglenn is offline
Campaigner
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 689
Default

My bet is the game engine limitation
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-18-2018, 09:38 PM
Avyctes's Avatar
Avyctes Avyctes is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,796
Default

I have nearly the same machine (only major difference I have a 1060 with 6GB) and I get the same thing. Don't think there's anything to do to be honest, it seems to me they are engine limitations. A 10 series gpu should run this easily but in situations with lots of mobs and effects going off I barely get 30 fps sometimes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2018, 09:48 PM
Darkstalix's Avatar
Darkstalix Darkstalix is offline
Advocate
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rebel7254 View Post
I play GD on a custom gaming laptop (hooked up to my TV through HDMI, made by a company called Eluktronics), which has the following specs:

Intel® Core™ i7-7700HQ Quad Core
8GB GDDR5 VRAM NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 1070
16GB DDR4 RAM
512GB Ultra Performance M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD
Windows 10 Professional

I really thought that this setup would be capable of delivering 60+ fps at all times, with potential exception of some Crucible waves. But even in some parts of towns like Devil's Crossing where nothing is going on, I get dips into the low 50s and upper 40s. I mean most of the time I am getting 60 fps, but drops do happen on a regular basis.

I haven't done a ton of troubleshooting yet, other than the tweak I found about setting max pre-rendered frames to "1" or whatever.

Resolution and graphics settings do not seem to matter. I can put everything on lowest graphics settings and 1024x768 resolution. Still can't muster 60 fps in parts of Devil's Crossing.

Before I proceed with troubleshooting, I just wanted to make sure this isn't a normal experience that can be chalked up to the aging game engine and its inability to take full advantage of multiple CPU cores.
Bro i dont know... these things i did on my pc helped me a lot try them just in case

-Check here C:\Users\YourPCname\Documents\My Games\Grim Dawn\Settings in the options.txt look for maxResourceThreads = 1 and set that to 8
(thats how many threads it says that your CPU has and mine has the same number)
-Check this app http://www.grimdawn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=36036
-Set your FPS on max 60 through your gfx software

I did all the above and it really really helped me tho

Last edited by Darkstalix; 09-18-2018 at 10:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-18-2018, 10:25 PM
el critico's Avatar
el critico el critico is offline
Campaigner
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 612
Default

looks like we need to buy the latest rtx cards to experience 60 fps in all scenarios . but question is will GD support ray tracing?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zantai View Post
There's not going to be a Paladin mastery, begin your shame.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-18-2018, 11:40 PM
mamba's Avatar
mamba mamba is offline
Praetorian
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by el critico View Post
looks like we need to buy the latest rtx cards to experience 60 fps in all scenarios . but question is will GD support ray tracing?
no it won’t, but that is not the only thing they offer... chances are you continue to be CPU bound however, so not sure you really gain much from them in the first place
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-19-2018, 12:29 PM
rebel7254 rebel7254 is offline
Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 116
Default

Thanks for the replies. Setting maxResourceThreads = 8 seems to have helped a good bit.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-19-2018, 01:27 PM
ibugsy's Avatar
ibugsy ibugsy is offline
Apostle
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5,905
Default

Have you read the User contributed common solutions, specifically the Create a Nvidia Game Profile for Grim Dawn post?
__________________
  • Forum Etiquette : http://www.grimdawn.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3
  • Forum Guidelines : http://www.grimdawn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1
  • Reporting Bugs (Please Read) : http://www.grimdawn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8053
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2018, 09:32 PM
Tyndim Tyndim is offline
Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1
Default

Got the same rig as OP, but on PC, GTX 1060.

Think you could have the best rig the market has to offer, the question will always be "but can it run Grim Dawn?"

Honestly it's no secret the game doesn't utilize system resources nearly well enough to support a lot of it's features. Pet builds are a nightmare. Multiplayer, especially crucible, is just where you need to be content with 20-30fps even with the lowest graphical settings.

It sucks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2018, 10:39 PM
Gdante14CO Gdante14CO is offline
Supporter
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 140
Default

Costum laptop, The only thing you can change in a laptop is ram, hard drive, and thats about it.

So you wont get much from a laptop with modern games.


For Grim Dawn, it uses cpu more then graphics card. So it's not the graphics that is the problem it's the cpu, Also Grim dawn uses one thread more then the others. That is why the fps is low sometimes, you can't change that that much with changes you make. It can go up a tad bit by going to notepat and changing the threads from 1 to 4, 6 or 8. But you will still not get 60+ fps all the time, because Grim Dawn will always use 1 thread mostly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Grim Dawn ©2018 Crate Entertainment, LLC.
vBulletin® 3.8.4 ©2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.