Go Back   Grim Dawn Forums > Grim Dawn Gameplay > Ideas and Feedback

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 07-18-2017, 12:14 AM
mamba's Avatar
mamba mamba is offline
Praetorian
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,954
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by claudius View Post
Also just a comment but you have to not only consider possible damage from a mod properly installed but also have to consider a mod improperly installed due to user error.
agreed, except that there really is nothing that actually can go wrong here. If you truly screw up the tool will not work, that is the extent of the possible damage and to accomplish that you already have to go out of your way a bit.

Quote:
I will say both the link to your Stash program and the link KondalImmortal gave I do not understand the first paragraphs
not going to try to convince you, do what you feel is best for you. In your case I would recommend the executable version if you want to try it at all...

That being said, if you actually had tried to install it and followed the documentation it should have been pretty clear. In a size constrained summary I keep things concise and do not explain things that I expect most people to understand or figure out via Google in 30 seconds - and to be clear, I do expect people to know what 64bit means these days. 10-15 years ago maybe not because most were still stuck in 32bit land, but ever since Win 7 (2009) most definitely
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 07-18-2017, 02:11 AM
claudius claudius is offline
Counsel
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 229
Default

mamba from what you have written I may give it a shot.

My computer is running operating system windows 7 got computer from 2010. I don't know what 64 bit refers to but I can look it up. I know it is the size of something but I don't know if it refers to RAM or what. I remember gaming systems like Nintendo I think that was 8 bit but I don't know what it refers to. It may not refer to RAM and may refer to the processor which I know can be dual or other multiple cores. I think I can find out how to look at what my computer specs are by google. I know how to look at specs on Mac OS but not windows but I can look it up. And probably can find what 64 bit refers to.

I might try the executable version of your stash program. I might really enjoy it. I have a question though. Is that (install executable version) all I have to do? Or do I have to resolve settings on steam cloud first? Do I have to first change the steam cloud to stop as my default save and switch to saving on my computer? Or will installing the executable accomplish what is needed in my case and faster than reading this thread as Aork had said?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 07-18-2017, 04:33 AM
mamba's Avatar
mamba mamba is offline
Praetorian
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,954
Default

The tool does not touch the game at all, so if you are using cloud save now, you will still do so after you installed it.

You can use the tool with cloud save, but I do not recommend it. Cloud save is finnicky so while it is equally easy to store items, it is somewhat harder to bring them back into the game again.

With local saves, you can put them in the shared stash even while playing, as long as the shared stash is not open in game.
With cloud save you should not be running GD at all when making changes to the files as otherwise the game frequently (but not always, did not find a pattern/cause) uses the cloud version and your changes get lost.

Anyone who ever had problems (other than making a mistake himself) was using cloud save. The tool always reliably writes the files, but cloud save often ignores them. As with local saves there is one copy only, this never happens with local saves.

64bit refers both to the CPU (pretty much all are today) and the OS (I lump Java with the OSes here, for all intents and purposes that is what it is).
While you can run a 32bit OS on a 64bit CPU (and if you do, you really should have a good reason why, as it pretty much has only downsides), the reverse is not possible.
The bit-ness refers to the number of bits in an address, which basically tells you how much memory the OS can make use of. At 32bit it is 2^32 bytes, which is 4GB, and we breached that a long time ago. With 64bit it is 2^64 bytes, or 2^32 * 2^32, so you have plenty of space left...

That I recommend 64bit Java is due to the fact that Oracle's 32bit JVM (which is what pretty much everyone uses) has some issues that their 64bit VM does not have (nor do other 32bit VMs, like IBMs however).
It does not like allocating RAM in blocks larger than around 200 MB, regardless of how much available RAM you have, by now I worked around that by creating my own buffer class, and if anyone ever runs out of heap space, that too is on the 32bit version. While you can increase heap space, that is just one more hurdle to overcome...

None of this is really relevant though, the first part is some technical details which you need not remember other than 64bit can use more memory than 32bit, and the second part is my rationale for why I say to use 64bit Java. Your takeaway really only has to be that when you go to the Java download page, which has a link to a 32bit version and a 64bit version, get the 64bit version.

Last edited by mamba; 07-18-2017 at 04:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 07-18-2017, 04:39 AM
claudius claudius is offline
Counsel
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 229
Default

Good to know. Just curious but are there advantages for the user to using cloud? (not specific to GD but general for many games) For me it is just the default setting for steam. I never asked steam to use the cloud; I never wanted it. So the question arises is "why steam"? Is there some advantage to me?

That I recommend 64bit Java is due to the fact that ??Oracle's?? 32bit ??JVM?? (which is what pretty much everyone uses) has some issues the their 64bit ??VM?? does not (nor do other 32bit ??VMs??, like IBMs however).
It does not like ??allocating RAM?? in blocks larger than around 200 MB, regardless of how much available RAM you have, by now I worked around that by crwating my own ??buffer class??, and if anyone ever runs out of ??heap space??, that too is on the 32bit version. While you can increase ??heap space??, that is just one more hurdle to overcome...

Last edited by claudius; 07-18-2017 at 04:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 07-18-2017, 04:47 AM
mamba's Avatar
mamba mamba is offline
Praetorian
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,954
Default

There are potential advantages. 1) you can play the same saves on different computers without having to transfer them and 2) when you wipe everything and reinstall your PC, you do not need to worry about backing up the save files.

Neither one is important to me, so I disabled cloud save globally in Steam


As to all your question marks above, none of that stuff you need to know, see my summary. What you should remember is that when you download Java and there are links to 32bit and 64bit versions, download the latter The reasons for that are some technical details you need not worry about.
If you want to know them that is one thing (and we can derail the discussion into that direction or you can google what heap space is (not worth knowing unless you are a programmer) and what allocating RAM means (also not important to know)), but you do not need to know them

Last edited by mamba; 07-18-2017 at 05:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 07-18-2017, 04:49 AM
claudius claudius is offline
Counsel
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 229
Default

Good to know and thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 07-19-2017, 10:45 AM
Predator-X Predator-X is offline
Acolyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by claudius View Post
Thanks. Sounds too complicated to me (from the link).
Just want to clarify something for myself. Is copying files (CTRL+C, CTRL+V) really that hard for you?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 07-19-2017, 04:04 PM
claudius claudius is offline
Counsel
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 229
Default

Predator, I have never moved files. This was linked to by KondaImmortal
http://www.grimdawn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=20752

And I said it didn't sound easy and sounded that there was some risk of damage should there be error.

But as I said different people use computers differently. I never knew that Ctrl V or Ctrl C could be used moving files. Also do you really want to clarify that for yourself? Believe it or not I know more about computers than many people I know. You might be from a younger generation than me who got more training available on computers for school. Or otherwise I don't know why you ask for that clarification as many many people really do not do a lot of things like file swapping on computers. I like computer games. Not so much computers themselves.

Last edited by claudius; 07-19-2017 at 04:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Grim Dawn ©2017 Crate Entertainment, LLC.
vBulletin® 3.8.4 ©2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.