#451  
Old 08-17-2017, 03:49 AM
mamba's Avatar
mamba mamba is offline
Praetorian
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9,752
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ste180 View Post
Thanks, the relic generation works fine now. I tried changing the stack count but it just replicates the same item with the exact same randomized stats. Just generating each relic separately gives an item with a new set of randomized stats.
that is because 50 relics in one stack is really the same relic, including the seed, 50 times

Quote:
So I'm thinking if I change the seed number of an item, will it change the randomized stats of that item as well?
yes

Quote:
Does each particular seed number ALWAYS give one particular set of randomized stats?
yes

Quote:
If so, then is there a 'magical' seed number between 1 & 4 billion which will generate an item with maxed random stats?
have fun figuring that out

In theory there will be one seed that for a specific item (i.e. set of bonuses) gives you the best values (which is not the same as max values throughout), but finding that will not be easy.
On the other hand if you create 10 to 20 items and pick the best one, you are reasonably close, so it is not really worth bothering with more.
Reply With Quote
  #452  
Old 08-17-2017, 04:08 AM
Odie Odie is offline
Counsel
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ste180 View Post
Okay, I'm trying to wrap my head around this. So I'm thinking if I change the seed number of an item, will it change the randomized stats of that item as well? Does each particular seed number ALWAYS give one particular set of randomized stats? If so, then is there a 'magical' seed number between 1 & 4 billion which will generate an item with maxed random stats?
Howdy...

Yes and no?

The actual stats on an item is probably determined by something like:

Code:
initialize_RNG(item.seed)

for each effect on item:
  actualEffectNum = baseEffectNum * (1 + (random_float() * possibleEffectRange)
If this is the case, then...

Yes, the same seed on an item will result in the same stats all the time.

It's likely there will be more than one seed that gives you the "max stats" for an item. That same seed will likely *not* give you the "max stats" for another item. So there isn't (or shouldn't be) a magic seed that word across the board that gives you "max stats" for all items.

Also, keep in mind that the idea of an item with "best/max stats" can also be subjective depending on the build you're going for. There might be some seeds that give you clearly inferior results. But beyond that, the differences are likely to be minute.

Given all of this info, I'd say that, practically, if you really really really cared... you might want to try a few different seeds just to make sure you didn't get some of the worst rolls. But beyond that, it doesn't matter how many seeds you try, you're not likely to make any significant dent in the 2^32 variations/seeds. Even if you've manually try 10 thousand variations, you would have only looked through 0.0002% of all possible variations. (Just take your calculator and put in "10000 / (2^32)" and see for yourself.)

You'll be better off looking for higher tier items/relics if they are available.
__________________
gd-edit FAQ page
https://odie.github.io/gd-edit-docs/faq/
Reply With Quote
  #453  
Old 08-26-2017, 11:58 PM
Sunwolf Sunwolf is offline
Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 2
Default

Greetings!

Great tool, and thank you for making it.

Will this tool work on modded masteries (DAIL, etc). Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #454  
Old 08-27-2017, 04:04 AM
Odie Odie is offline
Counsel
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunwolf View Post
Greetings!

Great tool, and thank you for making it.

Will this tool work on modded masteries (DAIL, etc). Thanks in advance.
Howdy!

It sure will!
You need to use the "mod pick" command to tell the editor which mod you want to use. You can then use the "class" commands to manipulate your masteries as usual.

You can check the details of the "mod pick" command here.
https://odie.github.io/gd-edit-docs/...mmand-mod-pick
__________________
gd-edit FAQ page
https://odie.github.io/gd-edit-docs/faq/
Reply With Quote
  #455  
Old 10-07-2017, 07:00 PM
Lamante's Avatar
Lamante Lamante is offline
Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 120
Default

Hey! Great tool!

I'm lazy and i need to know:

How do i skip Normal and Elite and Start at Ultimate?

Last edited by Lamante; 10-07-2017 at 07:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #456  
Old 10-07-2017, 07:14 PM
Odie Odie is offline
Counsel
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lamante View Post
Hey! Great tool!

I'm lazy and i need to know:

How do i skyp Normal and Elite and Start at Ultimate?
This should let you get straight to Ultimate:
Code:
set greatest-difficulty-completed 2
__________________
gd-edit FAQ page
https://odie.github.io/gd-edit-docs/faq/
Reply With Quote
  #457  
Old 10-12-2017, 04:22 PM
Lamante's Avatar
Lamante Lamante is offline
Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odie View Post
This should let you get straight to Ultimate:
Code:
set greatest-difficulty-completed 2
Thank you!

The tool is working with new items? I've tried to create a Mythical Markovian's Bulwark and it failed.
Reply With Quote
  #458  
Old 10-12-2017, 04:28 PM
Odie Odie is offline
Counsel
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 266
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lamante View Post
Thank you!

The tool is working with new items? I've tried to create a Mythical Markovian's Bulwark and it failed.
Howdy!

Can you show me the command you ran and the error?
__________________
gd-edit FAQ page
https://odie.github.io/gd-edit-docs/faq/
Reply With Quote
  #459  
Old 10-12-2017, 04:56 PM
mamba's Avatar
mamba mamba is offline
Praetorian
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9,752
Default

the expansion items are in a different .arz and their texts in a different file. Maybe that is why the tool does not find them ?
Reply With Quote
  #460  
Old 10-12-2017, 09:12 PM
Lamante's Avatar
Lamante Lamante is offline
Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odie View Post
Howdy!

Can you show me the command you ran and the error?
This:

> set inv/1/items "Mythical Markovian's Bulwark"

Sorry, the item could not be constructed
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
editor, save file

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Grim Dawn ©2017 Crate Entertainment, LLC.
vBulletin® 3.8.4 ©2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.