Go Back   Grim Dawn Forums > Grim Dawn Gameplay > Guides and Tutorials

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #171  
Old 05-23-2018, 01:33 PM
Jaknet's Avatar
Jaknet Jaknet is offline
Praetorian
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4,753
Default

Glad as hell you have found them

As to how on earth they have ended up there... wonders of bloody modern technology

Last edited by Jaknet; 05-23-2018 at 01:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #172  
Old 06-13-2018, 12:25 AM
Cheeseus Crust Cheeseus Crust is offline
Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Default

My HD recently crashed, so I needed to get a new one / fresh install. If I'm understanding this thread correctly then my 641 hours of characters and loot are gone?
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old 06-13-2018, 01:27 AM
mamba's Avatar
mamba mamba is offline
Praetorian
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheeseus Crust View Post
My HD recently crashed, so I needed to get a new one / fresh install. If I'm understanding this thread correctly then my 641 hours of characters and loot are gone?
hard to say, as you provide no information.

I assume you used local saves and made no backups, at which point this depends on whether you can still read from your HD. A crash does not necessarily mean that all data on it is lost.
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old 06-13-2018, 02:39 AM
Cheeseus Crust Cheeseus Crust is offline
Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mamba View Post
hard to say, as you provide no information.

I assume you used local saves and made no backups, at which point this depends on whether you can still read from your HD. A crash does not necessarily mean that all data on it is lost.
I am not certain. I have been playing GD since Beta on Steam.
Edit (That is to say I did not change the saving options or do any backing up period. Whatever it was before it was a real game is what I had)
The HD and all the information is sadly a write off.

The Cloud save referred to here is still technically local, isn't it?

Last edited by Cheeseus Crust; 06-13-2018 at 02:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old 06-13-2018, 03:55 AM
mamba's Avatar
mamba mamba is offline
Praetorian
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheeseus Crust View Post
The Cloud save referred to here is still technically local, isn't it?
yes, the dir referred to here is local, but the same data also resides in the Steam cloud.

Basically the OP tells you how to move data to the local side of the cloud and that then gets replicated to the actual cloud from there. The Steam cloud and that dir should generally be in sync.

That also means your data should still reside in the cloud and get downloaded from there back on to your PC if you used cloud save.

Whether you did is a difficult question, the default setting changed at some point in time and is now the cloud I believe, so you might be lucky. Only one way to find out, get the new HD, install Steam and GD and hope for the best...
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old 06-13-2018, 04:57 AM
Cheeseus Crust Cheeseus Crust is offline
Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mamba View Post
Only one way to find out, get the new HD, install Steam and GD and hope for the best...

I have completed those steps. Initial loading of the game has no characters.

Going to the options tab, and choosing networks I have chosen "import data from cloud" and it seems to have done nothing.

At this point I will assume my too many hours are gone, but should I restart at this point it will start saving on the actual cloud?
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old 06-13-2018, 06:04 AM
powbam's Avatar
powbam powbam is offline
Praetorian
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 6,111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheeseus Crust View Post
At this point I will assume my too many hours are gone, but should I restart at this point it will start saving on the actual cloud?
By default, yes. Or you can set it to save locally and make backups yourself if you don't trust Steam Cloud not to eat your saves, which does seem to happen to some people in a variety of games, likely due to network hiccups imo.

Sent from my SM-J727P using Tapatalk
__________________
powbam is like a forum vulture, when he shows up, the thread is close to death. ~jiaco
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old 06-13-2018, 08:13 AM
tsuelue's Avatar
tsuelue tsuelue is offline
Emissary
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 909
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by powbam View Post
By default, yes. Or you can set it to save locally and make backups yourself if you don't trust Steam Cloud not to eat your saves, which does seem to happen to some people in a variety of games, likely due to network hiccups imo.
This. I don´t understand how people who invest hundreds or thousands of hours in the game don´t backup manually. Why not take a few minutes now and then and make a manual backup, zip it and send it to your email account?

Be more paranoid, please.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
guides, save games

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Grim Dawn ©2018 Crate Entertainment, LLC.
vBulletin® 3.8.4 ©2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.