Go Back   Grim Dawn Forums > Grim Dawn Community Section > Utilities and Resources

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2016, 03:25 AM
GloriousEggroll's Avatar
GloriousEggroll GloriousEggroll is offline
Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 6
Default Grim Dawn Linux Guide (Updated: 4/4/2017)

UPDATED 4-4-17

This game is much, MUCH simpler to run now.

First, you will want wine-staging 2.4 and winetricks
Open a terminal.
On arch linux you simply do:

sudo pacman -S wine-staging winetricks

next, create a prefix and set configurations:
WINEARCH=win32 WINEPREFIX=~/.grimdawn winecfg

Set to Windows 7
In staging, enable CSMT.

next, we need dependencies for steam and the game:
WINEARCH=win32 WINEPREFIX=~/.grimdawn winetricks vcrun2010 vcrun2012 xact xinput d3dx9

now we need to install steam for windows using this prefix if you havent yet. Download:
https://steamcdn-a.akamaihd.net/clie...SteamSetup.exe

cd /path/to/downloaded/steam/installer
WINEARCH=win32 WINEPREFIX=~/.grimdawn wine SteamSetup.exe

run the installer. it should place a steam icon on your desktop. double click it.
log into steam, install grim dawn. When it finishes installing, click play!

THAT'S IT!!!

It runs perfectly, runs with everything cranked up in the graphics settings.

TROUBLESHOOTING:
If you're struggling with invisible characters, do the following:
WINEARCH=win32 WINEPREFIX=~/.grimdawn wine regedit
Navigate to:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER/Software/Wine/
Create a key named "Direct3D"
Inside it, create a string named "CheckFloatConstants"
Double click that string and type "enabled", save, close, relaunch steam and the game.

If you are on NVIDIA and have tearing (not just grim dawn but in general):
Find your connected outputs with xrandr:
xrandr -q
it will say something like:
DVI-I-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-0 connected primary
DP-0 connected

if you're using X:
if you're using older xorg.conf:
sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
if you're using newer xorg:
sudo nano /etc/X11/10-monitor.conf:

look for the section that starts like this:

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"

Add the following,change DP-0 and HDMI-0 to the devices connected listed from xrandr -q. I use one display port and one hdmi, my example is as follows:

Option "metamodes" "DP-0: 1920x1080_60 +0+0 {ForceCompositionPipeline=On, ForceFullCompositionPipeline=On}, HDMI-0: 1920x1080_60 +1920+0 {ForceCompositionPipeline=On, ForceFullCompositionPipeline=On}"

60 is the refresh rate.

ctrl+O to save
ctrl+X to exit, restart your PC.

WARNING: if your PC fails to load a display, simply drop to tty with ctrl+alt+f2, then sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf or /etc/X11/10-monitor.conf and remove the lines you added.
__________________
Blog: gloriouseggroll.tv
Youtube: youtube.com/gloriouseggrolltv
Twitch: twitch.tv/gloriouseggroll

Arch Linux
i7 6700k + ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger Mobo.
MSI GTX 980 Ti Golden Edition
Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD

Last edited by GloriousEggroll; 04-05-2017 at 10:39 PM. Reason: Updated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2016, 05:55 PM
Gera Gera is offline
Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 6
Default

Hi, thnks for the update on the guide. Are you using native or propietary drivers? I have a geforce 960 and never used Gallium 9. Is this needed? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2016, 01:11 AM
GloriousEggroll's Avatar
GloriousEggroll GloriousEggroll is offline
Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gera View Post
Hi, thnks for the update on the guide. Are you using native or propietary drivers? I have a geforce 960 and never used Gallium 9. Is this needed? Thanks!
proprietary, I don't use nouveau because they just arent up to par performance wise as proprietary are. If you use nouveau gallium nine can help, but it is not needed. as far as Ive been able to see, gallium nine greatly helps amd users, but you also need to be running mesa with gallium nine patches. Mine runs great with just proprietary and staging
__________________
Blog: gloriouseggroll.tv
Youtube: youtube.com/gloriouseggrolltv
Twitch: twitch.tv/gloriouseggroll

Arch Linux
i7 6700k + ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger Mobo.
MSI GTX 980 Ti Golden Edition
Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD

Last edited by GloriousEggroll; 03-04-2016 at 01:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2016, 03:27 PM
GloriousEggroll's Avatar
GloriousEggroll GloriousEggroll is offline
Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 6
Default

Just a heads up I've updated the guide for anyone wondering. got everything sorted with invisible parts, screen tearing, and vsync issues. the method I have listed above has some important parts. The final setup has "Allow flipping" enabled, with compton settings set that work properly. The game runs great with literally no jittering now. One key thing I did was removed the syncto_vblank option in the launch script as well. basically what ive done is set up a composition pipeline for nvidia that allows compton to take over and run super smooth vsync. ^^
__________________
Blog: gloriouseggroll.tv
Youtube: youtube.com/gloriouseggrolltv
Twitch: twitch.tv/gloriouseggroll

Arch Linux
i7 6700k + ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger Mobo.
MSI GTX 980 Ti Golden Edition
Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2016, 09:01 PM
PublicLewdness PublicLewdness is offline
Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1
Default

Could any developer comment on whether there are plans for an actual Linux version of Grim Dawn ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2016, 11:51 PM
beaverusiv's Avatar
beaverusiv beaverusiv is offline
Counsel
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 243
Default

Considering Grim Dawn uses the Titan Quest engine and DirectX I highly doubt it. But there is hope for their next game.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2016, 01:38 AM
Gumshoe Gumshoe is offline
Campaigner
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 789
Default

Thanks for the guide, got GD working in Manjaro.

I'm a Linux noob and have an ATI card, so I only followed up to 'get the game running.'

Now trying to get my dual monitor setup working (Intel + DVI Screen, AMD 7950 + DVI Screen) without much luck (2nd screen not detected), but GD works on the single AMD attached screen fairly well, other than slight stuttering.

Would love a dedicated Linux edition, as I look forward to dropping Windows altogether one day...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-29-2016, 09:08 PM
eNTi eNTi is offline
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 183
Default

don't upgrade to 1.9.6:

https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=40381

Code:
fixme:winediag:start_process Wine Staging 1.9.6 is a testing version containing experimental patches.
fixme:winediag:start_process Please mention your exact version when filing bug reports on winehq.org.
fixme:module:load_library unsupported flag(s) used (flags: 0x00000800)
fixme:module:load_library unsupported flag(s) used (flags: 0x00000800)
fixme:module:load_library unsupported flag(s) used (flags: 0x00000800)
fixme:module:load_library unsupported flag(s) used (flags: 0x00000800)
fixme:module:load_library unsupported flag(s) used (flags: 0x00000800)
fixme:module:load_library unsupported flag(s) used (flags: 0x00000800)
fixme:module:load_library unsupported flag(s) used (flags: 0x00000800)
fixme:module:load_library unsupported flag(s) used (flags: 0x00000800)
fixme:ntdll:EtwEventRegister {5eec90ab-c022-44b2-a5dd-fd716a222a15}, 0x3b27f0, 0x3c0030, 0x3c0048
fixme:ntdll:EtwEventSetInformation 2, 0x3b2560, 43
Initializing Theora Playback Library (1.1)
  - libtheora version: Xiph.Org libtheora 1.2.0alpha 20100924 (Ptalarbvorm)
  - libvorbis version: Xiph.Org libVorbis 1.3.4
------------------------------------
fixme:msvcp:_Locinfo__Locinfo_ctor_cat_cstr (0x32fb38 1 C) semi-stub

runtime error R6025
fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x13d3d3c) stub
fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0xc69d34) stub
fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x8844f4) stub
fixme:advapi:EventUnregister deadbeef: stub
fixme:msvcrt:__clean_type_info_names_internal (0x1000f41c) stub

Last edited by eNTi; 03-29-2016 at 09:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-30-2016, 12:49 PM
eNTi eNTi is offline
Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 183
Default

bug fixed in git version of wine-staging.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2016, 04:44 AM
Gumshoe Gumshoe is offline
Campaigner
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 789
Default

Anyone managed to get GD working with Gallium on AMD?

I can get the Steam GD version running through wine (without Gallium) with some screen tearing and occasional fps drops, but can't get the GoG version running at all (black screen) and if I try the Steam version with Gallium enabled I get "couldn't initialize graphics engine."

What extra Redists or libraries does Steam use that I'm missing for the GoG version?

I've used the guide in this thread, except the compton/Nvidia options.

I've installed Gallium through the wine-gaming-nine and wine-d3dadapter packages (AUR) without success.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
platforms

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Grim Dawn ©2017 Crate Entertainment, LLC.
vBulletin® 3.8.4 ©2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.